A Multicentre Randomised Controlled Trial of Induced Endometrial Scratch in Women Undergoing First Time
IN Vitro Fertilisation (IVF)

Endometrial Scratch

The Endometrial Scratch trial is a randomised controlled trial aiming to assess the effectiveness of local endometrial trauma (also known as “endometrial scratch”) on In Vitro Fertilisation (IVF).

1044 women will be recruited across the UK to be randomised to either receive the endometrial scratch intervention followed by “usual” IVF, or to just receive “usual” IVF. The pregnancy rates in each group will be analysed to assess if the endometrial scratch has a positive effect.

The trial will start in July 2016 and recruit eligible women until December 2018.

For more information, please contact Robin Chatters on 01142222969 or r.chatters@sheffield.ac.uk

Project Team

Name Role Site Contact

Mostafa Metwally

Chief Investigator Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

mmetwally@nhs.net

01142 268092

Robin Chatters

Trial Manager The University of Sheffield

R.chatters@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 2222969

Clare Pye RN

Lead Research Nurse Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

Clare.Pye@sth.nhs.uk

0114 222 0861

Susan Laird

Sub Study Investigator Sheffield Hallam University

s.m.laird@shu.ac.uk

Tim Chater, Kirsty Pemberton & Christopher Ellis

Data Management Team The University of Sheffield t.chater@sheffield.ac.uk
k.j.pemberton@sheffield.ac.uk

Stephen Walters

Senior Statistician The University of Sheffield

s.j.walters@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0730

Munyaradzi Dimairo

Statistician The University of Sheffield

m.dimairo@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 5204

Tracey Young

Health Economics The University of Sheffield

t.a.young@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0837

Judith Cohen

CTRU Advice The University of Sheffield

j.cohen@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 2220868

Lois Perrozzi

Trial Support Officer The University of Sheffield

L.perrozzi@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0746

Kate Brian

PPI Lead

Lamiya Mohiyiddeen

Clinical Advice Manchester University Hospitals

lamiya.mohiyiddeen@cmft.nhs.uk

Jonathan Skull

Clinical Advice Sheffield Teaching Hospitals jonathan.skull@sth.nhs.uk

Ying Cheong

Clinical Advice University of Southampton y.cheong@soton.ac.uk

Participating Sites:

Site Principal Investigator

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

Vidya Tamhankar

University Hospital of Leicester

Tarek Gelbaya

Manchester University Hospitals

Lamiya Mohiyiddeen

The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals

Dr Meenakshi Choudhary

The University hospital Southampton

Dr. Ying Cheong

The Leeds Teaching Hospitals

Mugdha Kulkarni

South Tees Hospital NHS Trust

Dr Mohar Goswami

Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust

Mr Isaac Evbuomwan

Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust

Mr Phillip Harris