Postgraduate Research Students within Public Health

Postgraduate Research Students (Students studying for a MPhil/PhD/MD), are assigned to the same section as their lead supervisor. They are actively involved in the section, attend and contribute to all relevant meetings and groups.

Staff candidates stay within their relevant section.

Below is a list of students either assigned to the Public Health Section or supervised by staff in the Public Health Section and you can link to their web page by clicking on their name.

A full list of PGR's and their research titles within ScHARR can be found on the main PGR A to Z web page.

Student name Public Health Supervisor(s) Title/Topic Email address
Abouammoh, Noura

Dr Sarah Barnes

Prof Elizabeth Goyder

The Role of Expatriate Primary Health Care Physicians in Caring for Type 2 Diabetes Patients in Saudi Arabia: Perspectives of Physicians and Patients. noura.abouammoh@sheffield.ac.uk
Abubakar, Isa Sadeeq

Dr Amy Barnes

Dr Andrew Lee

Impact evaluation of a Maternal and Child Health intervention programme in Northern Nigeria. isa.abubakar@sheffield.ac.uk
Alaswad, Amal Dr Sue Baxter How electronic health records (EHR) will differentiate the health care quality compared to manual records in hospitals of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. a.alaswad@sheffield.ac.uk
Alenezi, Latifah Dr Janet Harris A study to explore the use of cognitive strategies to manage chronic muskuloskeletal pain.
Alkhezi, Eiman Mohammad

Dr Sarah Barnes

Dr Emma Everson-Hock

Promotion of Physical Activity in older people and those transmitting into older age in Kuwait. ealkhezi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Al-Rawashdeh, Mohammad Ahmad Prof Elizabeth Goyder Gender related differences in quality of life and attitudes toward diabetes type 2 patients in Jordan. irawashdeh1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bhurtyal, Yagya Dr Padam Simkhada Effects of International male migration on left behind (wives and children) in Nepal. y.m.bhurtyal@sheffield.ac.uk
Clark, Joseph

Dr Clare Gardiner

Dr Amy Barnes

A Global Social Policy Perspective on Global Palliative Care Development. joseph.clark@sheffield.ac.uk
Crosbie, Brian

Dr Jennifer Burr

Prof Nick Fox

How is gender deployed in nursing settings in relation to the use of technology? b.crosbie@sheffield.ac.uk
Doran, Kathryn Ms Rosemary Barber What is helpful in guided self help for depression and anxiety? Implications for stepped care.
Fibert, Philippa Dr Clare Relton The treatment of children with behavioural disorders using homeopathy. p.fibert@sheffield.ac.uk
Fitzgerald, Christopher Dr Jennifer Burr Exercise And Clean Living:  The impact of exercise upon recovery from substance addiction. cmfitzgerald1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gladwell, Daniel Dr Jenny Owen Good health: a foundation for the development of capabilities which foster well-being in the present and future. d.gladwell@sheffield.ac.uk
Gosadi, Ibrahim Prof Elizabeth Goyder Investigating the potential effect of inbreeding on Type 2 Diabetes susceptibility in the Saudi Society. cmp10img@sheffield.ac.uk
Griffiths, Paul

Dr Rachel O'Hara

Dr Janet Harris

Organisational Culture, Quality Improvement and Efficiency Savings in the National Health Services (NHS). paul.griffiths@sheffield.ac.uk
Hutten, Rebecca Dr Jenny Owen What improves access to psychological therapies? Helping and hindering factors in policy implementation. r.hutten@sheffield.ac.uk
Iliyasu, Zubairu

Dr Jenny Owen

Dr Padam Simkhada

Marital satisfaction and reproductive behaviour of HIV positive men in Kano, northern Nigeria. ziliyasu@sheffield.ac.uk
Kabir, Mohammed

Prof Elizabeth Goyder

Mr Graham Jones

Effectiveness of a health education campaign on knowledge of, attitude to and practice of family planning in Dawakin Kudu and Kumbotso villages, Kano State, Nigeria. m.kabir@sheffield.ac.uk
Karki, Jiban

Mr Graham Jones

Dr Padam Simkhada

How Public-Private Partnerships help to Revitalize Primary Healthcare in Nepal. jibankarki@sheffield.ac.uk
Lassa, Samuel

Dr Jenny Owen

Dr Julie Balen

Examining the interactions between major factors in the health systems strengthening interventions by Global Fund in Nigeria using the WHO systems thinking approach. cmp08sl@sheffield.ac.uk
Lee, Andrew Mr Graham Jones Strengthening Health Systems. andrew.lee@sheffield.ac.uk
Mahmood, Sajid Dr Clare Relton Prevalence of underestimation of body weight and its associated factors among medical students in Karachi, Pakistan. sajid.mahmood@sheffield.ac.uk
Milevska-Kostova, Neda Dr Richard Cooper Effects of policy changes in prescription regulation. n.milevska@sheffield.ac.uk
Ouma, Eve

Dr Amy Barnes

Prof Michelle Holdsworth

Feeding the Classroom:  Stakeholder engagement in national nutrition policy in Kenya. eaouma1@sheffield.ac.uk
Owers, Corinne Dr Vanessa Halliday Bariatric surgery. Project already in design process. Prospective and retrospective review of bariatric surgical services in Sheffield. mda01ceo@sheffield.ac.uk
Pallotti, Phoebe

Dr Sarah Salway

Prof Elizabeth Goyder

Health Inequalities and Breastfeeding. p.pallotti@sheffield.ac.uk
Panday, Sarita

Dr Padam Simkhada

Dr Mark Strong

The role of social, economic and demographic development in the reduction of maternal mortality in Nepal. s.panday@sheffield.ac.uk
Papamalis, Efstratios Fivos Prof Petra Meier An integrative approach to drug treatment evaluation: A pilot study of client & program level factors as indicators of treatment engagement. cmp09ep@sheffield.ac.uk
Roberts, Katharine

Prof Michelle Holdsworth

Prof Paul Bissell

Selecting a diet quality indicator to evaluate the nutritional health of the UK population across differing socio-economic groups. cmp11ker@sheffield.ac.uk
Saddiq, Muhammad

Dr Janet Harris

Mr Graham Jones

Dr Amy Barnes

Reconceptualising health systems:  A case study of Rigasa, an urban unplanned settlement in Northern Nigeria. muhammad.saddiq@sheffield.ac.uk
Saeed, Hibbah Araba

Prof Michelle Holdsworth

Dr Katie Powell

The determinants of dietary behaviour and its impact on obesity among Ghanians living in the UK. hasaeed1@sheffield.ac.uk
Scott, Anne Prof Elizabeth Goyder The use of technology in diabetes in deprived areas. anne.scott@sheffield.ac.uk
Siebert, Penelope

Prof Elizabeth Goyder

Dr Richard Cooper

Evaluating Derbyshire County Primary Care Trust's Health Check programme for cardiovascular disease. p.siebert@sheffield.ac.uk
Taddese, Henock

Dr Amy Barnes

Prof Paul Bissell

The 'Real Life' Conduct of Partnerships:  A case study of the Global Fund's Country Coordinating Mechanism (CCM) in Ethiopia. h.taddese@sheffield.ac.uk
Tandan, Shraddha

Dr Padam Simkhada

Dr Sarah Barnes

Health related behaviour of older Nepalese people in the United Kingdom. A Mixed Methods Study. shraddha.tandan@sheffield.ac.uk
Tosh, Jonathan Dr Mark Strong A theoretical and applied methodology for the economic evaluation of sequential therapies for chronic conditions. j.tosh@sheffield.ac.uk
Viksveen, Petter

Dr Clare Relton

Prof Jon Nicholl

Depression - What is the role of homeopathy? p.viksveen@sheffield.ac.uk
Weir, Carol

Prof Paul Bissell

Dr Amy Barnes

Prof Michelle Holdsworth

How Obesity Policy Works in Practice:  A set of case studies in South Yorkshire. carol.weir@sheffield.ac.uk
Whitfield, Grahame

Prof Elizabeth Goyder

Dr Sarah Barnes

Choice and Control or Choice and Constraint? Are older disabled people being empowered to make decisions about living their lives or becoming their own managers? gwhitfield1@sheffield.ac.uk
Whittingham, Katharine

Dr Sarah Barnes

Exploring carers' experiences of supporting a person with palliative heart failure: a mixed methods study. cmp11kw@sheffield.ac.uk