The University of Sheffield
Prospective postgraduates

EPSRC Scholarships

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) is the UK's principal funder for research and training in engineering and the physical sciences. The University of Sheffield is able to offer a number of EPSRC scholarships each year.

Award details

There are three types of scholarship awards:

The type of scholarship awarded is based on an applicant's residency status. UK applicants and EU applicants who have been resident in the UK for at least 3 years immediately preceding the start of their course are eligible for the full scholarship award. EU applicants that have not been resident in the UK for 3 years immediately preceding the start of their course are eligible for a fees-only award. International applicants are not normally eligible. Some departments offer enhanced stipends for applicants that meet certain eligibility criteria (e.g. hold a first class honours degree or are mature students).

Awards are tenable for a maximum of 3-4 years full-time and seven years part-time subject to satisfactory progress.


Eligibility is determined the EPSRC's eligibility criteria as set out in their "Guide to Student Eligibility".

The general eligibility requirements are:

How to apply

Individual departments are responsible for directly recruiting to the EPSRC scholarships they have available. Projects will be advertised on departmental websites and in the PhD Projects Directory. Applications should not be made to the EPSRC directly.

Further information

For general scholarship queries, please see our FAQs.

If you have any questions about EPSRC scholarships, please contact the relevant academic department or email

Information is also available on the EPSRC website.