Staff

 

If you don't know who to contact for a particular query, you can use the following resources to search by role and responsibility:

  • Pastoral roles:
Information School Student Handbook: Staff Academic and Pastoral Responsibilities
  • UG Programme Coordinators
Information School Student Handbook: UG Degree Programmes
  • PGT Programme Coordinators:
Information School Student Handbook: PGT Degree Programmes
  • Module Coordinators:
Directory of Modules 2014-15, Information School

The extension numbers detailed in the list below can be reached from outside the University by adding 22 to the front of the number i.e. 22644 becomes 2222644 when phoning locally and 0114 2222644 nationally. To phone these numbers internationally please use 00 44 114 22 followed by the extension.

Academic staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
Prof Peter Bath Head of School, Professor of Health Informatics p.a.bath@sheffield.ac.uk 22636 229
Dr Pamela Abbott Senior Lecturer in Information Systems p.y.abbott@sheffield.ac.uk 22669 225
Dr Jo Bates Lecturer in Information Politics and Policy jo.bates@shef.ac.uk 22648 236
Dr Briony Birdi Lecturer in Librarianship b.birdi@sheffield.ac.uk 22653 305
Prof Paul Clough Professor in Information Retrieval p.d.clough@sheffield.ac.uk 22664 226
Dr Andrew Cox Senior Lecturer a.m.cox@sheffield.ac.uk 26347 222
Dr Gianluca Demartini Senior Lecturer in Data Science g.demartini@sheffield.ac.uk 22637 306
Dr Christopher Foster Lecturer in ICT and Innovation christopher.foster@sheffield.ac.uk 22656 209a
Dr Jonathan Foster Lecturer in Information Management j.j.foster@sheffield.ac.uk 22665 310
Prof Val Gillet Professor of Chemoinformatics v.gillet@sheffield.ac.uk 22652 323
Paula Goodale Lecturer p.goodale@sheffield.ac.uk 22683 307
Peter Holdridge Associate University Teacher p.g.holdridge@sheffield.ac.uk 22698 227
Dr Robert Jäschke Senior Lecturer r.jaschke@sheffield.ac.uk 22682 232
Dr Angela Lin Lecturer a.lin@sheffield.ac.uk 22634 221
Dr Jorge Martins Lecturer in Organisational Informatics Jorge.Martins@sheffield.ac.uk 22667 304
Pam McKinney Lecturer p.mckinney@sheffield.ac.uk 22650 219
Dr Alex Peng Lecturer in Information Systems g.c.peng@sheffield.ac.uk 22658 212
Prof Stephen Pinfield Professor of Information Services Management s.pinfield@sheffield.ac.uk 22649 210
Dr Paul Reilly Senior Lecturer in Social Media and the Digital Society p.j.reilly@sheffield.ac.uk 22647 235
Dr Laura Sbaffi Lecturer in Health Informatics l.sbaffi@sheffield.ac.uk 22686 211
Dr Peter Stordy  Senior University Teacher peter.stordy@sheffield.ac.uk 22668 220
Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos Senior Lecturer in Corporate Information Management a.c.vasconcelos@sheffield.ac.uk 22643 309
Dr Farida Vis Research Fellow in the Social Sciences f.vis@sheffield.ac.uk 22654 303
Sheila Webber Senior Lecturer s.webber@sheffield.ac.uk 22641 212a
Prof Peter Willett Professor of Information Science p.willett@sheffield.ac.uk 22633 234
Dr Hui Yang Research Fellow in Health Informatics HYang@sheffield.ac.uk 323
Dr Xin Zhao (Skye) International Teaching Associate xin.zhao@sheffield.ac.uk 22677 209
Back to the top

Research staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
Sarah Hargreaves Research Associate
A Shared Space and a Space for Sharing
sarah.hargreaves@sheffield.ac.uk 22671 323
Kathryn MacKellar Research Project Officer
FashionBrain Project
k.mackellar@sheffield.ac.uk 323
Monica Lestari Paramita Research Associate
Information Retrieval Group
m.paramita@sheffield.ac.uk 22666 318
Susan Rainton
Part-time: in the office Wednesdays and Thursdays
Project Manager
A Shared Space and a Space for Sharing
s.rainton@sheffield.ac.uk 22672
Dr Elisa Serafinelli Research Associate
IMPROVER : Improved risk evaluation and implementation of resilience concepts to critical infrastructure.
e.serafinelli@sheffield.ac.uk 22666 318
Dr Giuliana Tiripelli Research Associate
CascEff Project
g.tiripelli@sheffield.ac.uk 22666 318
Dr Antonio de la Vega de Leon Postdoctoral Research Assistant & Marie Curie Fellow
D3i4AD Project
a.vega@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Simon Wakeling

Research Associate
Megajournals project

s.wakeling@sheffield.ac.uk 22666 318
Back to the top

Professional Services staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
John Bennett Teaching and Learning Manager j.bennett@sheffield.ac.uk 26330 217
Stuart Crowley User Communications Assistant (Graduate Intern) s.crowley@sheffield.ac.uk 22688 217
Paul Fenn ICT Manager p.fenn@sheffield.ac.uk 22695 213
Harriet Godfrey-Holmes (currently on maternity leave) Departmental Manager h.godfrey-holmes@sheffield.ac.uk 22663 230
Rachel Harland (maternity cover for Harriet Godfrey-Holmes) Departmental Manager r.harland@sheffield.ac.uk 22696 217
Larah Hogg
Taught Programmes Assistant larah.hogg@sheffield.ac.uk 22640 217
Matt Jones (8:15 am - 5:30pm Tuesdays and Fridays Research and Resources Administrator matthew.l.jones@sheffield.ac.uk 26346 230
Lois Logan PA to Head of School / Resources Administrator l.logan@sheffield.ac.uk 22687 230
Natasja Mycock Admissions Administrator n.mycock@sheffield.ac.uk 22662 217
Daniel Rose Research and Finance Manager daniel.rose@sheffield.ac.uk 22661 230
Julie Priestley Taught Programmes Administrator j.priestley@sheffield.ac.uk 22839 217
Richard Spencer (maternity cover for Heather Endcliffe) Marketing and Admissions Assistant richard.spencer@sheffield.ac.uk 22646 217
Andy Stones ICT Technician a.d.stones@sheffield.ac.uk 22639 213
Heather Endcliffe (Thompson)
(Mon - Fri, 09.00-14.30) (currently on maternity leave)
Admissions Administrator (Postgraduate) - on maternity leave until April 2017 heather.endcliffe@sheffield.ac.uk 22646

217

Back to the top

Emeritus & Visiting Staff

Name Position Email
Prof Micheline Beaulieu Emeritus Professor of Information Science m.beaulieu@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Nigel Ford Professor Emeritus n.ford@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Michael Lynch Professor Emeritus m.lynch@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Bob Usherwood Professor Emeritus r.usherwood@sheffield.ac.uk
Martin White Visiting Professor, Managing Director, Intranet Focus Ltd
Prof Susan Williams Visiting Professor, Professor at University of Koblenz
Prof Tom Wilson Professor Emeritus t.d.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

External Examiners

Name Position Programme
Prof Ian Ruthven Head of Department, Computer and Information Sciences, University of Strathclyde Undergraduate Programmes
Dr Alison Brettle University of Salford MSc Health Informatics
Dr Gillian Ragsdell Senior Lecturer in Knowledge Management, School of Business and Economics, Loughborough University MSc Information Management
Dr Mark Lee Senior Lecturer, School of Computer Science, University of Birmingham MSc Information Systems
Prof Gobinda Chowdhury Professor in Information Science, Head of Department of Mathematics & Information Sciences, Northumbria University MSc Digital Library Management
Back to the top

 Advisory Panel

Name Position Role
Tim Gollins Head of Digital Archiving
National Records of Scotland
External member
Mark Tuckett Head of Policy and Improvement
Sheffield City Council
External member
Adrian Dale Editor of Journal of Information Science External member
Jim Grisenthwaite Assistant Director - Local Services
Cumbria County Council
External member
Steve Wood Head of Policy
Information Commissioner's Office
External member
Andy Ball Managing Director
Peak Indicators
External member
James Andrews Knowledge Manager
KPMG
External Member
Nicky Whitsed Director of Library Services
Open University
External Member
Madeleine Greenhalgh Data Science Team
Cabinet Office
External Member
David Pearson Director of Culture, Heritage and Libraries
City of London Corporation
External Member
Alice Mathers Tinder Foundation External Member
Anne Horn Director of Library Services and University Librarian
University of Sheffield
Ex-officio Member
Dr Christine Sexton Director, Corporate Information and Computing Services
University of Sheffield
Ex-officio Member
Martin White Managing Director
Intranet Focus Ltd
Visiting Professor
Back to the top