Current Research Students (By Supervisor)

 

Supervisor's Surname: B , C , D , F , G , H , K , L , M , N , P , S , TV , W , Z

 

Supervisor

Supervision

Student

Thesis

B

Baker, James
(University of Sussex)
Secondary William Finley
WAFinley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Towards a Digital History of Printed Book Illustration 1750-1850.
Baycroft, Timothy
t.baycroft@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Cherie Prosser
CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk
A Comparative Analysis of Visual Propaganda in France and Britain during the First World War.
Eloise Roberts
(Germanic Studies)
lda07er@sheffield.ac.uk
Myth-making and National Identity: Heine's Satires in the Context of Public Disclosure on Myths of Nation in 1840s Germany.
Secondary Annabelle Grenville-Mathers
AFGrenville-Mathers1@sheffield.ac.uk
Executive Power and Republicanism: The Battle to Define Ulysses S Grant's Presidency 1868-1880.
Charlie Thompson
CAJThompson1@sheffield.ac.uk
'Imperialism in Power’: Centralization and its Discontents in America, 1848-1861.
Bingham, Adrian
adrian.bingham@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Aaron Ackerley
AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Economic Discourse during Depression: A Study of Newspapers in Inter-War Britain.
Lucy Bell
lbell1@sheffield.ac.uk
From Cooperation to Confrontation: Trade Unionism, British Politics and the Media, 1945-1979.
Leo Bird
LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk
The British Comedy Industry: Prosperity and Decline in Live Comedy Performance, 1945-65.
Lucy Brown
lucy.brown@sheffield.ac.uk
Men and Women in Love: Marriage, Sexuality, and Emotional Intimacy in Britain c.1955-1975.
David Holland
DHolland1@sheffield.ac.uk
Colonised Workers and the Pre-Windrush Settlement of Imperial Britain, 1918-1948.
Sarah Kenny
SKenny1@sheffield.ac.uk
Youth Culture in Sheffield: Spaces and Behaviours of Young People, 1962-1990.
Steven McKevitt
SMAMcKevitt1@sheffield.ac.uk
What Happened to the Future? The Inculcation of Persuasion and Its Impact on British Society 1969-1997.
Ross Paulger
RKPaulger1@sheffield.ac.uk
Anglo-American Quality Press Narratives and Sexual Revolution, 1958-1979.
Gareth Roddy
GRoddy1@sheffield.ac.uk
English Journeys: Gender, Identity, and the Culture of Landscape in the 1920s and 1930s.
Secondary Hilary Hall
HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk
In Full Color or Black and White? White Ethnicity and American Citizenship in the Newspaper Comic Strip, 1900-1932.
Braddick, Michael
m.braddick@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Alex Hitchman
AHitchman1@sheffield.ac.uk
Popular Appeal and Political Mobilisation: A Study of Legal Pamphlets and the Law in the Early 1640s.

C

Chambers, Claire
(University of York)
Secondary Imen Neffati
INeffati1@sheffield.ac.uk
Beyond Charlie: Anticlericalism and Freedom of Speech.
Cleall, Esme
e.r.cleall@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Fiona Clapperton
(School of English)
FCClapperton1@sheffield.ac.uk
From Servants to Staff, The Making of a Modern Estate: Employment & Service at Chatsworth in the 20th Century.
David Holland
DHolland1@sheffield.ac.uk
Colonised Workers and the Pre-Windrush Settlement of Imperial Britain, 1918-1948.
Cooper, Richard
(ScHARR)
richard.cooper@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Ryosuke Yokue
Ryokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Medical and Public Understanding of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.

D

Demetriou, Tania
(University of York)
Secondary Jose Cree
JCree2@sheffield.ac.uk
The Invention of Addiction in Early Modern England.
Dobson, Miriam
m.dobson@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Mirjam Galley
MGalley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Builders of Communism, 'Defective‘ Children and Social Orphans. Soviet Children in Care after 1953.
Hannah Parker
HParker2@sheffield.ac.uk
Women's Responses to the New Soviet Woman, 1917-1941.
Secondary James Yeoman
jmyeoman1@sheffield.ac.uk
Print Culture and the Formation of the Anarchist Movement in Spain: 1890-1915.
Duce, Alison
(Sheffield Industrial Museums Trust)
Secondary Laura Bracey
hip12lrb@sheffield.ac.uk
Women Workers in Sheffield’s Metal Trades, c.1742-1867.

F

Finney, Mark
m.t.finney@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Pedro Antonius
PAntonius1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Fulfillment of All Righteousness: Matthew's Unique Perspective on Jesus' Baptism.
Deok Hee Jung
DHJung1@sheffield.ac.uk
Luke's Understanding of the Oikoumene in Luke and Acts.
Bryan Stanton
BEStanton1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Interface between Demonology and Second Temple Purity Systems in the Markan Exorcism Stories.
Rongxi (Rosa) Wu
RWu6@sheffield.ac.uk
Veil in Biblical and Classical Antiquity: Honour, Head-coverings and Headship in the Old Testament and First Century Milieu.

G

Gleeson, Dermot
(Medicine)
Secondary Ryosuke Yokoe
RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Medical and Public Understanding of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.
Godfrey, Barry
(Liverpool)
Secondary Lucy Huggins
LEHuggins1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Social and Spatial Worlds of Old Bailey Convicts, 1785-1875.
Aoife O'Connor
AMOConnor1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Impact of Digital Resources in the History of Crime.
Gottlieb, Julie
julie.gottlieb@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary David Page
hip10dgp@sheffield.ac.uk
The Rise and Demise of the New Britain Movement, 1931–1935.
Secondary Lucy Brown
lucy.brown@sheffield.ac.uk
Men and Women in Love: Marriage, Sexuality, and Emotional Intimacy in Britain c.1955-1975.
Sarah Kenny
SKenny1@sheffield.ac.uk
Youth Culture in Sheffield: Spaces and Behaviours of Young People, 1962-1990.
Steven McKevitt
SMAMcKevitt1@sheffield.ac.uk
What Happened to the Future? The Inculcation of Persuasion and Its Impact on British Society 1969-1997.
Ross Paulger
RKPaulger1@sheffield.ac.uk
Anglo-American Quality Press Narratives and Sexual Revolution, 1958-1979.
Cherie Prosser
CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk
A Comparative Analysis of Visual Propaganda in France and Britain during the First World War.
Griffiths, Clare
clare.griffiths@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Phil Back
PBack1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Origins of Scotland's Country Parks.
Secondary Aaron Ackerley
AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Economic Discourse during Depression: A Study of Newspapers in Inter-War Britain.
Lucy Bell
lbell1@sheffield.ac.uk
From Cooperation to Confrontation: Trade Unionism, British Politics and the Media, 1945-1979.
Leo Bird
LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk
The British Comedy Industry: Prosperity and Decline in Live Comedy Performance, 1945-65.
Laura Bracey
hip12lrb@sheffield.ac.uk
Women Workers in Sheffield’s Metal Trades, c.1742-1867.
Andrew Chesworth
hip08ac@sheffield.ac.uk
The Amelioration and Recovery of Britain’s Far East POWs.
William Finley
WAFinley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Towards a Digital History of Printed Book Illustration 1750-1850.
Jon Webster
(Information Studies)
lip12jmw@sheffield.ac.uk
The History, Development and Cultural Impact of Libraries in the North Riding of Yorkshire 1775-1914.
Gusejnova, Dina
d.gusejnova@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Mirjam Galley
MGalley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Builders of Communism, 'Defective‘ Children and Social Orphans. Soviet Children in Care after 1953.

H

Harvey, Karen
k.harvey@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Laura Alston
ega08laa@sheffield.ac.uk
Women’s Negative Emotions and Micro-Emotional Communities 1700-1830: Examining Experiential Possibilities through Emotional Linguistics
Laura Bracey
hip12lrb@sheffield.ac.uk
Women Workers in Sheffield’s Metal Trades, c.1742-1867.
Nigel Cavanagh
hip12nac@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities: A Case Study of Elsecar 1750-1860.
William Finley
WAFinley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Towards a Digital History of Printed Book Illustration 1750-1850.
Kate Gibson
KLGibson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Perceptions and Experiences of Illegitimacy in the Long Eighteenth Century.
Tom Rusbridge
TBSRusbridge1@sheffield.ac.uk
Leather and Life: Objects and their Actors in Early Modern England.
Nicola Walker
NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.
Hannah Wallace
(School of English)
HWallace1@sheffield.ac.uk
Community, Conflict and Change at Chatsworth, 1700-1820.
Heath, Andrew
a.d.heath@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Annabelle Grenville-Mathers
AFGrenville-Mathers1@sheffield.ac.uk
Executive Power and Republicanism: The Battle to Define Ulysses S Grant's Presidency 1868-1880.
Hilary Hall
HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk
In Full Color or Black and White? White Ethnicity and American Citizenship in the Newspaper Comic Strip, 1900-1932.
Chris Olewicz
hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk
Constructing Leviathan: Studies on the Left and the Rise of Corporate Liberalism 1959-1979.
Charlie Thompson
CAJThompson1@sheffield.ac.uk
'Imperialism in Power’: Centralization and its Discontents in America, 1848-1861.
Hillner, Julia
j.hillner@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Simon Hosie
jpb08sh@sheffield.ac.uk
The Purpose of Bureaucratic Inventories in Late Antiquity.
Harry Mawdsley
HEMawdsley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Exile in the Post-Roman West (430-630).
Hannah Probert
HLProbert1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fatherhood between Late Antiquity and the Early Middle Ages.

K

Karamouzi, Eirini
e.karamouzi@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Carla Gutierrez Ramos
CAGutierrezRamos1@sheffield.ac.uk
Labour and Nation. Welfare, Sub-State Nationalism and Labour Unionism in Galicia and Scotland.
Knepper, Paul
(Law School)
P.Knepper@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Helen Churcher
hia08hec@sheffield.ac.uk
Understandings of Habitual Criminality and the Trajectory of Criminal Stereotyping in England from 1770 to 1870.

L

Lee, Daniel
d.lee@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Laurien Vastenhout
L.Vastenhout@sheffield.ac.uk
The Jewish Councils of Western Europe under Nazi Occupation: A Comparative Analysis.
Leng, Tom
t.leng@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Alex Hitchman
AHitchman1@sheffield.ac.uk
Popular Appeal and Political Mobilisation: A Study of Legal Pamphlets and the Law in the Early 1640s.
Alexander Taylor
ATaylor2@sheffield.ac.uk
The Criminality of Tobacco in Seventeenth-century England.
Loseby, Simon
s.t.loseby@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Harry Mawdsley
HEMawdsley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Exile in the Post-Roman West (430-630).
Secondary James Chetwood
JAChetwood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Tom, Dick and Leofric: The Transformation of English Personal Naming, 850–1350.

M

McCallum, David
(French)
d.mccallam@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Anna Jenkin
hip12acj@sheffield.ac.uk
Perceptions of the Murderess in London and Paris: 1674-1789.
Middleton, Simon
s.middleton@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Kristine Tomlinson
hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk
The Reverend Isaiah Parker MD: Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1812.
Secondary Laura Alston
ega08laa@sheffield.ac.uk
‘Negative’ Emotions and Emotional Communities in Eighteenth Century and Regency Women's Private Writing and Culture 1700-1830.
Moore, Bob
r.moore@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Hanna Abakunova
HAbakunova1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Rescue of Jews and Roma in Ukraine during the Holocaust.
Andrew Chesworth
hip08ac@sheffield.ac.uk
The Amelioration and Recovery of Britain’s Far East POWs.
Laurien Vastenhout
L.Vastenhout@sheffield.ac.uk
The Jewish Councils of Western Europe under Nazi Occupation: A Comparative Analysis.
Secondary Chris Olewicz
hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk
Constructing Leviathan: Studies on the Left and the Rise of Corporate Liberalism 1959-1979.
Moses, Julia
j.moses@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Eleanor Bland
EBland2@sheffield.ac.uk
Policing and Prosecution at the Old Bailey, c.1780-1850.
Lauren Butler
(School of English)
LMButler1@sheffield.ac.uk
A Community of Masters and Servants? Chatsworth, 1811-1914.
Brendan Murphy
hip11bjm@sheffield.ac.uk
Killing in the German Army: Organizing and Surviving Combat in the Great War.
Lucy Huggins
LEHuggins1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Social and Spatial Worlds of Old Bailey Convicts, 1785-1875.
Nicola Walker
NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.

N

Nic Dháibhéid, Caoimhe
c.nicd@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Phil Back
PBack1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Origins of Scotland's Country Parks.
Gareth Roddy
GRoddy1@sheffield.ac.uk
English Journeys: Gender, Identity, and the Culture of Landscape in the 1920s and 1930s.

P

Pennock, Caroline Dodds
c.pennock@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Harriet Smart
HLCSmart1@sheffield.ac.uk
Power and Performance: Ritual, Religion and Imperial Control in the Aztec World.
Pidd, Michael
(Humanities Research Institute)
m.pidd@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Aoife O'Connor
AMOConnor1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Impact of Digital Resources in the History of Crime.

S

Shoemaker, Robert
r.shoemaker@sheffied.ac.uk
Primary Eleanor Bland
EBland2@sheffield.ac.uk
Policing and Prosecution at the Old Bailey, c.1780-1850.
Helen Churcher
hia08hec@sheffield.ac.uk
Understandings of Habitual Criminality and the Trajectory of Criminal Stereotyping in England from 1770 to 1870.
Lucy Huggins
LEHuggins1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Social and Spatial Worlds of Old Bailey Convicts, 1785-1875.
Anna Jenkin
hip12acj@sheffield.ac.uk
Perceptions of the Murderess in London and Paris: 1674-1789.
Aoife O'Connor
AMOConnor1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Impact of Digital Resources in the History of Crime.
Secondary Nigel Cavanagh
hip12nac@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities: A Case Study of Elsecar 1750-1860..
Kate Davison
kate.davison@sheffield.ac.uk
Ned Ward and his Network: a Social History of Humour in Eighteenth-century England.
Kate Gibson
KLGibson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Perceptions and Experiences of Illegitimate Birth, c. 1700-1830.
Kristine Tomlinson
hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk
The Reverend Isaiah Parker MD: Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1812.
Staub, Martial
m.staub@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Elizabeth Goodwin
hia08eg@sheffield.ac.uk
Communities on the Move: The Transformation of Communities of Women Religious in Late Medieval and Early Modern England.
Daniel Murphy
DTMurphy1@sheffield.ac.uk
A Time of Great Necessity: Images of Crisis and Reform in the Twelfth Century.
Secondary Simon Hosie
jpb08sh@sheffield.ac.uk
The Purpose of Bureaucratic Inventories in Late Antiquity.
Hannah Probert
HLProbert1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fatherhood between Late Antiquity and the Early Middle Ages.
Mary Young
MPYoung1@sheffield.ac.uk
Biblical Commentaries in the Development and Transmission of Carolingian Culture.

T

Tanner, John
(Barnsley Museums)
Secondary Nigel Cavanagh
hip12nac@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Elsecar.
Nicola Walker
NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.

V

Vernon, Teresa
(British Library)
Secondary Cherie Prosser
CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk
A Comparative Analysis of Visual Propaganda in France and Britain during the First World War.
Vincent, Mary
m.t.vincent@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Ruth Littlewood
(Hispanic Studies)
RLittlewood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Memoirs of Women Prisoners in Franco's Spain.
Carla Gutierrez Ramos
CAGutierrezRamos1@sheffield.ac.uk
Labour and Nation. Welfare, Sub-State Nationalism and Labour Unionism in Galicia and Scotland.
Imen Neffati
INeffati1@sheffield.ac.uk
Beyond Charlie: Anticlericalism and Freedom of Speech.
Vicki Pugh
VLPugh1@sheffield.ac.uk
Performing Bodies: Anatomical Display in the Twentieth-Century Fairground.
Stephanie Wright
SMWright1@sheffield.ac.uk
Disabled and Neurotic Nationalist Veterans and Perceptions of Masculinity in Franco's Spain, 1936-75.
James Yeoman
jmyeoman1@sheffield.ac.uk

Print Culture and the Formation of the Anarchist Movement in Spain: 1890-1915.

Secondary Alexander Buck
(Hispanic Studies)
ABuck1@sheffield.ac.uk
Immigration in Argentina in the Late Nineteenth and early Twentieth Centuries.
David Page
hip10dgp@sheffield.ac.uk
The Rise and Demise of the New Britain Movement, 1931–1935.
Hannah Parker
HParker2@sheffield.ac.uk
Women's Responses to the New Soviet Woman, 1917-1941.
Ryosuke Yokoe
RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Medical and Public Understanding of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.

W

West, Charles
c.m.west@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary James Chetwood
JAChetwood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Tom, Dick and Leofric: The Transformation of English Personal Naming, 850–1350.
Mary Young
MPYoung1@sheffield.ac.uk
Biblical Commentaries in the Development and Transmission of Carolingian Culture.
Secondary Alyxandra Mattison
(Archaeology)
a.mattison@sheffield.ac.uk
The Political and Religious Context of Judicial Punishment in Early Medieval England, AD 800-1200.
West, Shearer
shearer.west@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Apurba Chatterjee
AChatterjee2@sheffield.ac.uk
Imaging Authority: A Study of the Visual Representations of the Early British Empire in Bengal (1750-1830).
Wilmott, Hugh
(Archaeology)
H.Willmott@sheffield.ac.uk
Secondary Tom Rusbridge
TBSRusbridge1@sheffield.ac.uk
Leather and Life: Objects and their Actors in Early Modern England.
Withington,Phil
P.Withington@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Apurba Chatterjee
AChatterjee2@sheffield.ac.uk
Imaging Authority: A Study of the Visual Representations of the Early British Empire in Bengal (1750-1830).
Jose Cree
JCree2@sheffield.ac.uk
The Invention of Addiction in Early Modern England.
Kate Davison
kate.davison@sheffield.ac.uk
Ned Ward and his Network: a Social History of Humour in Eighteenth-century England.
Alexander Taylor
ATaylor2@sheffield.ac.uk
The Criminality of Tobacco in Seventeenth-century England.
Ryosuke Yokoe
RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Medical and Public Understanding of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.
Secondary Harriet Smart
HLCSmart1@sheffield.ac.uk
Power and Performance: Ritual, Religion and Imperial Control in the Aztec World.

Z

Ziemann, Benjamin
b.ziemann@sheffield.ac.uk
Primary Brendan Murphy
hip11bjm@sheffield.ac.uk
Killing in the German Army: Organizing and Surviving Combat in the Great War.
Secondary Hanna Abakunova
HAbakunova1@sheffield.ac.uk
The Rescue of Jews and Roma in Ukraine during the Holocaust.
Stephanie Wright
SMWright1@sheffield.ac.uk
Disabled and Neurotic Nationalist Veterans and Perceptions of Masculinity in Franco's Spain, 1936-75.