GMail Inbox Delegation

If you need to use a shared inbox for your department, or just have someone keep an eye on your work emails whilst you’re away, Inbox Delegation in your University GMail is a great way to do it. Using Inbox Delegation you can grant up to 25 people access to your personal or shared inbox without ever having to give out your password. Delegates will not be able to change any passwords or account settings or access any other Google Apps. Any messages sent by a delegate will also say: Your Name: Sent by ‘Delegates Name’.

Delegate access can also be quickly and easily removed from accounts when it’s no longer needed.

Instructions:

Please note, delegate access is only available through the web interface.

  1. Click the gear icon Gear icon in the upper right, then select Settings.
  2. Select the Accounts and Import tab.
  3. Under 'Grant access to your account,' click the Add another account link.
  4. Enter the email address of the person you'd like to access your account and click Next Step. Remember you can only enter a Google Mail address.
  5. You'll see a confirmation message. Click Send email to grant access if you're sure.
  6. The delegate will receive a verification email explaining that you've granted access to them -
    After the delegate confirms this request, it may take up to 30 minutes for the verification process to be completed. To see if the delegate has confirmed access to your account, look at the Accounts tab in Settings
  7. Once the verification process has been completed, delegates can access the account by clicking on their own email address from GMail and selecting the delegated account from the drop menu.
  8. Any messages someone else sends from your account will have your name listed in addition to the other person's name, so they'll show the sender as: Your Name (sent by Delegate).

If someone has granted access to their account to you, you can access it by clicking the down-arrow next to your email address in the upper-right corner. Click Switch account and choose your delegate's email address.

Remove delegated access to your account

If you no longer want to grant somebody else access to your account, follow these instructions:

  1. Click the gear icon Gear icon in the upper right, then select Settings.
  2. Click the Accounts and Import tab.
  3. In the "Grant access to your account" section, click delete on any account you want to remove.