The University of Sheffield
Department of Archaeology

People

Academic Staff

Below is a list of current academic staff in the Department of Archaeology. Each person's name links through to their personal profile where available.

Professors, Readers and Lecturers

Name Role Email address Telephone
Albarella, Dr Umberto Senior Lecturer in Zooarchaeology u.albarella@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22943
Ayala, Dr Gianna Lecturer in Landscape Formation Processes g.ayala@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22935
Barrett, Prof John C Professor of Archaeology j.barrett@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22916
Bennet, Prof John Professor of Aegean Archaeology d.j.bennet@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 25103
Carroll, Prof Maureen Professor of Roman Archaeology p.m.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22959
Craig-Atkins, Dr Elizabeth Lecturer in Human Osteology e.craig-atkins@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22906
Day, Dr Peter Reader in Archaeology p.m.day@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22917
Doonan, Dr Roger Senior Lecturer r.doonan@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22939
Hadley, Prof Dawn Professor of Archaeology d.m.hadley@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22920
Halstead, Prof Paul Professor of Archaeology p.halstead@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22905
Jackson, Dr Caroline Reader in Archaeology c.m.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22918
Johnston, Dr Bob Senior Lecturer in Landscape Archaeology r.johnston@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22941
Jones, Prof Glynis Professor of Archaeology g.jones@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22904
Kuykendall, Dr Kevin Senior Lecturer k.l.kuykendall@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22937
Moreland, Prof John Head of Department j.moreland@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22909
Nystrom, Dr Pia Lecturer in Biological Anthropology and Primatology p.nystrom@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22902
Rempel, Dr Jane Lecturer in Classical Archaeology j.rempel@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22938
Sherratt, Dr Susan Lecturer s.sherratt@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20183
Willmott, Dr Hugh Senior Lecturer in European Historical Archaeology h.willmott@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22940

Teaching Fellows

Name Role Email address Telephone
Merrony, Mr Colin Teaching fellow c.merrony@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22929
Swales, Dr Diana Demonstrator in Human Osteology d.l.swales@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22930

Post-doctoral Fellows and Research Assistants

Name Role Email address Telephone
Alberti, Dr Maria Emanuela Marie Curie Intra-European Fellow m.alberti@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22950
Askew, Dr Rachel Research Associate, Newark Civil War Defences Project r.askew@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22950
Crewe, Dr Vicky Project Officer v.crewe@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22925
Forster, Dr Emily ERC-funded Research Associate in Archaeobotany E.E.Forster@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22921
Frahm, Dr Ellery Marie Curie Senior Research Fellow e.frahm@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 22 22951
Gilstrap, Will Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher in Archaeological Ceramics W.Gilstrap@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22951
Hemer, Dr Katie British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow & University of Sheffield Vice Chancellor’s Fellow k.hemer@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22925
Marwood, Dr Kimberley Project Officer (Community Heritage) k.marwood@sheffield.ac.uk
0114 22 22953
Mentesana, Roberta Marie Curie Early Stage Researcher in Archaeological Ceramics R.Mentesana@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22951
Sebastiani, Dr Alessandro Marie Curie Intra-European Fellow a.sebastiani@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22950
Valenzuela, Dr Silvia Marie Curie Intra-European Fellow s.valenzuela@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22943
Wallace, Dr Michael NERC-funded Post-doctoral Research Associate in Archaeobotany m.p.wallace@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22921