The University of Sheffield
Department of Archaeology

Contact us

General enquiries

Email: archaeology@shef.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 114 222 2900

Postal address

Department of Archaeology
University of Sheffield
Northgate House
West Street
Sheffield
S1 4ET
United Kingdom

Map of UK

 Undergraduate

Initial enquiries:

Natalie Barks

Student Support Officer

 +44 (0) 114 22 22912

archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

UG Admission process:

Mrs Jo Mirfield

Senior Undergraduate Support Officer

+44 (0) 114 22 22932

archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Dr Jane Rempel

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

 +44 (0) 114 22 22938

j.rempel@sheffield.ac.uk

Deputy Director of Learning and Teaching

Professor Paul Halstead

Head of Undergraduate School

+44 (0) 114 22 22905

p.halstead@sheffield.ac.uk

Postgraduate

Initial enquiries:

Liam Hogg

Student Liaison Assistant

 +44 (0) 114 22 22900

archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

PG admission process:

Ms Kathryn Goldsack

Senior Graduate Support Officer

+44 (0) 114 22 25104

archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Student Programme (MPhil/PhD) admission process:

Natalie Barks

Student Support Officer

+44 (0) 114 22 22912

archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk

Research programmes (M.Phil., PhD)

Prof Maureen Carroll

Research Programmes Admissions Tutor

+44 (0) 114 222 2959

p.m.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Academic advice on taught programmes

Dr Peter Day

Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes

+44 (0) 114 222 2917

p.m.day@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Taught programmes enquiries: individual courses

MA Aegean Archaeology

MA Archaeology of the Classical Mediterranean

Dr Sue Sherratt

+44 (0) 114 222 0183

s.sherratt@sheffield.ac.uk

MA Medieval Archaeology

Dr Hugh Willmott

+44 (0) 114 222 2940

h.willmott@sheffield.ac.uk

MA Archaeology

Dr Peter Day

+44 (0) 114 222 2917

p.m.day@sheffield.ac.uk

MA Classical & Ancient World

Dr Jane Rempel

+44 (0) 114 222 2938

j.rempel@shef.ac.uk

MA Cultural Heritage Management

Professor Paul Halstead

+44 (0) 114 222 2905

p.halstead@shef.ac.uk

MSc Experimental Archaeology
MSc Archaeological Materials
MA Material Culture Studies

Dr Roger Doonan

+44 (0) 114 222 2939

r.doonan@sheffield.ac.uk

MSc Environmental Archaeology and Palaeoeconomy
MA Landscape Archaeology

Prof Paul Halstead

+44 (0) 114 222 2905

p.halstead@sheffield.ac.uk

MSc Osteoarchaeology

Dr Umberto Albarella

+44 (0) 114 222 2943

u.albarella@shef.ac.uk

MSc Human Osteology and Funerary Archaeology

Dr Pia Nystrom

+44 (0) 114 222 2902

p.nystrom@sheffield.ac.uk

MSc Palaeoanthropology

Dr Kevin Kuykendall

+44 (0) 114 222 2937

k.l.kuykendall@sheffield.ac.uk